Tips for thrifty music collectors

I’m not an expert on this but here’s the little of my experience and knowledge! I hope this helps you!

In the late 80s I started making mixtapes. In the spring, summer and early fall I would go to yard sales and garage sales and hunt for records and tapes. I would find some cool 45s by artists I’ve heard of by did know the songs. When I got a decent stack I would make mixtapes with songs I liked. I got pretty lucky that most of them where in decent shape.

Around 1990s I got a new stereo with a CD player and started buying CDs. Around this time I went with a friend to a nearby flea market. I believe I bought a compilation of songs from 1970s music among other CDs. When I got it home I discovers the 70’s comp was scratched as hell! Pardon my language but it was. Wow did I learn my lesson!

When you got to a yard sale, Garage sale or flea Market check the record, CD or tape and make sure its in good shape and it is what its supposed to be.

With records sometimes the jacket may be in rough shape but the record with be in mint shape and visa versa!

Tapes – there are some folks who still buy cassettes. Make sure the tape isn’t broken are mangled and that the pressure pads that the tape runs on is in good shape!

Budget labels and knock offs- You’ll finds comps that say like joe Doe sings the music of..Avoid these. There are also sound alike comps like Drews Halloween hits. those are close imitation comps that sound very close to the real thing but aren’t.

Did I miss anything? if so you may let me know.

I wish you all a successful flea market and yard sale shopping season and as the song says

Don’t leave your records in the sun. They’ll warp and won’t be good for anyone!


Leave a comment